Pricing checked against SAHPRA-registered providers
South Africa
Compare prices
Registered with SAHPRA

Mounjaro prices in South Africa

Mounjaro contains tirzepatide, made by Eli Lilly — a "dual agonist" that acts on both GIP and GLP-1 receptors, a different mechanism from semaglutide-based medications. It's taken as a once-weekly injection and is registered in South Africa for type 2 diabetes management. Below is exactly what the providers we track actually publish for Mounjaro — not invented per-dose figures.

Price comparison

Mounjaro, by dose and provider

Every figure below is exactly what the provider publishes on its own page, verified on 2026-08-28.

DoseProviderTypePrice
Mounjaro 2.5mg single-dose vial packagingMounjaro 2,5Mg injection, single doseClicks, Dis-Chem, Medirite, Pick n Pay Pharmacy, Alpha PharmPharmacyR1 184.28Regulated maximum (SEP) + R294.47 dispensing fee
Mounjaro 5mg single-dose vial packagingMounjaro 5Mg injection, single doseClicks, Dis-Chem, Medirite, Pick n Pay Pharmacy, Alpha PharmPharmacyR1 184.28Regulated maximum (SEP) + R294.47 dispensing fee
Mounjaro 7.5mg single-dose vial packagingMounjaro 7,5Mg injection, single doseClicks, Dis-Chem, Medirite, Pick n Pay Pharmacy, Alpha PharmPharmacyR1 498.34Regulated maximum (SEP) + R340.68 dispensing fee
Mounjaro 10mg single-dose vial packagingMounjaro 10Mg injection, single doseClicks, Dis-Chem, Medirite, Pick n Pay Pharmacy, Alpha PharmPharmacyR1 498.34Regulated maximum (SEP) + R340.68 dispensing fee
Mounjaro 2.5mg KwikpenMounjaro 2,5 Mg Kwikpen pack of 4Clicks, Dis-Chem, Medirite, Pick n Pay Pharmacy, Alpha PharmPharmacyR4 124.03Regulated max (SEP), R1 031.01/pen + R518.44 dispensing fee
Mounjaro 5mg KwikpenMounjaro 5 Mg Kwikpen pack of 4Clicks, Dis-Chem, Medirite, Pick n Pay Pharmacy, Alpha PharmPharmacyR4 187.95Regulated max (SEP), R1 046.99/pen + R521.92 dispensing fee
Mounjaro 7.5mg KwikpenMounjaro 7,5 Mg Kwikpen pack of 4Clicks, Dis-Chem, Medirite, Pick n Pay Pharmacy, Alpha PharmPharmacyR6 480.58Regulated max (SEP), R1 620.14/pen + R646.58 dispensing fee
Mounjaro 10mg KwikpenMounjaro 10 Mg Kwikpen pack of 4Clicks, Dis-Chem, Medirite, Pick n Pay Pharmacy, Alpha PharmPharmacyR6 480.58Regulated max (SEP), R1 620.14/pen + R646.58 dispensing fee
Mounjaro 12.5mg KwikpenMounjaro 12,5 Mg Kwikpen pack of 4Clicks, Dis-Chem, Medirite, Pick n Pay Pharmacy, Alpha PharmPharmacyR8 948.36Regulated max (SEP), R2 237.09/pen + R780.76 dispensing fee
Mounjaro 15mg KwikpenMounjaro 15 Mg Kwikpen pack of 4Clicks, Dis-Chem, Medirite, Pick n Pay Pharmacy, Alpha PharmPharmacyR8 948.36Regulated max (SEP), R2 237.09/pen + R780.76 dispensing fee
Not disclosed bundled programGet Tested South AfricaTelehealthR5 500Program · 4-week cycle, billed monthly
Not disclosed bundled programGet Tested South AfricaTelehealthR4 500Program · 8-week cycle, billed monthly

The ten Clicks/Dis-Chem/Medirite/Pick n Pay Pharmacy/Alpha Pharm rows show the government-regulated Single Exit Price by dose and pack — the legal maximum any South African pharmacy may charge, from the official Medicine Price Registry. It's the same ceiling at every pharmacy, not a chain's own published price — none of them publish an individual price online, since South African law restricts advertising Schedule 4 medicine prices to the public. The single-injection SKUs (2.5–10mg) and the 4-pack "Kwikpen" SKUs are separate registered products, not the same thing sold in different quantities — we've kept them as separate rows rather than merging them. Get Tested South Africa is the only telehealth provider with an actual price tied to Mounjaro specifically, as a bundled program. Online Doctor SA also prescribes Mounjaro but only publishes a R350 consultation fee, with the medication billed separately — see our provider directory.

What is Mounjaro?

Mounjaro is the brand name for tirzepatide, sometimes called a "twincretin" because it activates both GIP (glucose-dependent insulinotropic polypeptide) and GLP-1 receptors — unlike Ozempic, Wegovy and Saxenda, which act on GLP-1 alone. This dual mechanism is one reason it's often discussed alongside, rather than simply grouped with, other GLP-1 medications.

In South Africa, Mounjaro is registered for managing type 2 diabetes. Internationally, tirzepatide is also marketed under a separate brand for weight management; that distinct weight-management registration is not the focus of this page.

Different mechanism, similar comparison basis

Because tirzepatide works differently to semaglutide and liraglutide, your doctor may recommend it over other options for specific health reasons — this is a clinical decision, not a pricing one.

Related medications

You may also want to compare Ozempic or Wegovy (semaglutide-based), or Saxenda (an older, daily GLP-1 injection).